Living Beaverton - Your guide to everything Beaverton

head_left_image

Buying a new construction home? Get a home inspection!

Just because you are purchasing a new construction home, doesn't mean that it doesn't have problems that an inspector may find. Some of these new homes are built so fast, that things are missed or just not done up to code.

Do you need proof of this? Read the contracts and see for yourself. A lot of these contracts are starting to put restrictions on inspections, because these inspections are costing the builders money! I recently saw a contract that said that the inspection had to be done within 3 days of an accepted offer and could only be done between the hours of 2-4. I'm sorry. I've never seen an inspector get done with any home, much less a 4,000 square foot home, in 2 hours.

This tells me that the builder is trying to hide something and knows, that if an inspection is done, that it will cost him money. This doesn't mean that you can't change the contract to say 10 days and no time restrictions. It just means that he is hoping you will agree to and you will just decide not to get one.

So be careful, and read the contracts with your new construction home very carefully, or you may get a nasty surprise when you find something wrong.

 

 

 

Respect Realty LLC (Expect More)

 

At Respect Realty, LLC our agents believe in 100% dedication to client satisfaction.  We specialize in property and land acquisition around the Portland Metro and Vancouver, WA area. We delight in working with first time home buyers and sellers to guide them from start to finish. Our doors are always open and we are always happy to assist you with your real estate questions.

 

Reach out today, we look forward to talking with you!

 

Todd Clark and Seraina Aguayo (Owners of Respect Realty)

Respect Realty LLC (Expect More)

(503)564-3130

info@RespectRealtyNW.com

www.RespectRealtyNW.com

 

Thinking of buying? Start your home search by clicking here
Thinking of selling? Find how much your home is worth by clicking here

 

Don't forget to follow us on Social Media to keep up with the latest real estate information

Facebook

Twitter

Instagram

Pinterest

 

Comment balloon 14 commentsRespect Realty LLC • August 30 2007 07:18PM

Comments

Hi Todd,

Right you are!  I just finished a home inspection (I always try to go) on a new home for an out of town buyer, who is arriving tomorrow for the closing.  Inspection turned up lots of minor things....most notable was  6 inches of insulation missing throughout in the attic (no one wants to be in the attic for very long in North Carolina in August).  Buyer client is real happy it was discovered, yet it is one of those things you take for granted that in a new house, it would be correct.

Dick Beals

Posted by Dick & Sandy Beals (Wilmington Real Estate 4U Wilmington, NC) about 11 years ago

Specializing in new home sales, I thank you for posting this article. Builders should welcome home inspections (although we have had building inspections) and mine do.

Posted by Julie Chapman, New Homes Sales Lakeland Florida (DR Horton ) about 11 years ago
Todd- I'm new to the business and didn't even know there were new construction inspectors. I found this out in a GRI class I took. I tell my new construction home buyers I recommend they get one. You can never be too sure and most people think it's not a bad price for the peace of mind they get. I'm not sure what you call the inspectors in other states, but in Texas they're Phase Inspectors.
Posted by Linda Scanlan (A Fan of AR) about 11 years ago
I had a client actually say "Its a brand new home, why should I waste money on a home inspection?" I simply responded..."Well builders can make mistakes and it can cost THEM a lot of money to fix or YOU  a lot of money to fix, how do you prefer it?" Spend the few hundred dollars!
Posted by Rick Grand (nowhere) about 11 years ago

Dick - It is always good to get that inspection done! It is amazing what they will skip if you agree to purchase before the house is done. I've seen homes sold where if you sign the agreement that you are not allowed to exit the contract and then these builders cut corner after corner to save money!

Julie - I wish more work like your builders than the ones I've been running in to that are affraid of them. That usually tells me enough about their construction to tell my clients to run the other way.

Linda - Thanks for the "Phase Inspectors" I knew what I was thinking of, but I couldn't come up with it, when writting the post!

Posted by Respect Realty LLC, Brokers - Oregon / SW Washington Real Estate (Respect Realty LLC) about 11 years ago
Rick - That is the exact problem that people think when buying new construction, they think they are getting perfection. Ever bought a new car? At least they come with a warranty, unlike most new homes.
Posted by Respect Realty LLC, Brokers - Oregon / SW Washington Real Estate (Respect Realty LLC) about 11 years ago
The stories I have heard from my home inspector about new construction homes makes me understand exactly how important this is.  I had an inspection on a home that was only 3 years old; where there were a couple of issues that were CLEARLY a issue with the builder - but the current owners/sellers had to have them fixed.
Posted by James Downing - Metro DC Houses Team REALTORS®, CRS, GRI, ABR,MRP, MilRes, When Looking to Buy or Sell - Make the Right Move (Real Living | At Home) about 11 years ago

Howdy Todd

Thank you for a very fine post with very good info in it.

Your so right about a New Home needs a Inspection just as much as an older home does.

Have a good one

Posted by Dale Baker, New Hampshire Relocation Real Estate Information (Baker Energy Audits and Commercial Properties Inspections) about 11 years ago

AMEN TO THIS!  Just because it's a new construction doesn't mean it's SOUND or that it was built well!

I have seen new construction homes with such crooked floors it would make an 1890's farmhouse look level.  In fact, I've seen more level floors in old farm houses than in that new house!   And that's just the flaw you could SEE as an amateur - I'm married to a builder but I'm no inspector or building expert by any means.

GET an INSPECTION! 

Posted by Karen Rice, Northeast PA & Lake Wallenpaupack Home Sales (Davis R. Chant, REALTORS) about 11 years ago
Just last month on a 300k home the inspector found a severe crack in the basement wall. I had to really talk my clients into getting the inspection too. You just cant depend on the county inspector.
Posted by Keith Perry, REALTOR - West Metro Atlanta (Coldwell Banker) about 11 years ago

No, you can't depend on the county or local inspectors! The new construction home I was talking about was issued a CO (certificate of occupancy) and my husband was just amazed.  He said the home should have been advertised as "Beautiful lot; bulldozer needed".

 

Posted by Karen Rice, Northeast PA & Lake Wallenpaupack Home Sales (Davis R. Chant, REALTORS) about 11 years ago

James - It is just blind trust that a new home won't have problems!

Karen - I love it "Beautiful lot, bulldozer needed" - I heard one story from another agent that his clients bought a home started to put their dishes in the cuboards when then came crashing down when the cuboards just fell off the wall!

Posted by Respect Realty LLC, Brokers - Oregon / SW Washington Real Estate (Respect Realty LLC) about 11 years ago
Thanks for the post Todd. I have a friend that just started selling Real Estate for a builder, and she was telling me things that were going wrong so far. I agree with you, that even if they are newly built they still need a home inspection!!
Posted by Nicole Garner (Not Available) about 11 years ago
Nicole - I'm glad your friend is honest enough to admit not everything is perfect, instead of trying to hide it.
Posted by Respect Realty LLC, Brokers - Oregon / SW Washington Real Estate (Respect Realty LLC) about 11 years ago

This blog does not allow anonymous comments